Autism Is Not My Personality

Disability influences my life in huge ways, but it does not define my destiny.

Devon Price
10 min readNov 8, 2021

--

Photo by Tyler Lastovich on Unsplash

A few days ago, I made a post on Instagram about the fact I tend to over-explain things. I’m very accustomed to being misunderstood, and to not having my feelings taken seriously by others, so I go to great pains to communicate my experience as clearly and persuasively as possible. I’m also a hyper-verbal person: the way I make sense of my emotions and desires is by translating them into language. Unfortunately, this tendency can backfire on me, getting me labeled “long-winded” or as one commenter recently described me, “hand-wringing.”

In my post, I mentioned that this frustrating dynamic has a lot to do with my being Autistic. Autistic people express ourselves differently than non-Autistic people do. It’s not that we are bad communicators, contrary to popular belief. There’s just a mismatch between what works for us and what neurotypicals expect.

Autistics tend to use facial expressions, tone of voice, and language differently than neurotypicals do, but it’s not due to a lack of social skill. An experiment conducted in 2019 by Crompton et al found that when two Autistic people work together on a challenging task, they communicate super efficiently and effectively and complete the task with relative ease. It’s…

--

--

Devon Price

He/Him or It/Its. Social Psychologist & Author of LAZINESS DOES NOT EXIST and UNMASKING AUTISM. Links to buy: https://linktr.ee/drdevonprice