My Shockingly Easy Top Surgery Recovery

Part 2: My time in the OR and the first week post-op.

Devon Price
24 min readJun 15, 2023

--

A photo from my room at 900 N. Michigan Surgical Center.

On June 1st, 2023, I received a double-incision, bilateral mastectomy with no nipple grafts from Dr. Lawrence Iteld, a private plastic surgeon, at the 900 N. Michigan Surgical Center here in Chicago, Illinois.

In my last entry in this series, I explained what motivated my choice to undergo gender affirming top surgery, why it took me so long to arrive at that decision despite knowing for years that I was trans, and how I went about selecting my surgeon and procedure. You can read all about that process in the piece here:

At the time of this writing, it’s been one week since my surgery, and I could not be more pleased with Dr. Iteld’s work, the support of his staff and the 900 N. Michigan surgical team, my rate of healing, or my results. I look fantastic, I am in no pain and essentially never was, my energy levels are high, and I’m outright stunned at how easy and frictionless this entire process has been.

--

--

Devon Price

He/Him or It/Its. Social Psychologist & Author of LAZINESS DOES NOT EXIST and UNMASKING AUTISM. Links to buy: https://linktr.ee/drdevonprice