My Dalliance with Detransition

At the emotional low point of the pandemic, I tried becoming a woman again.

Devon Price
20 min readFeb 24, 2022

--

Photo by Martino Pietropoli on Unsplash

I. Summer

When I came out as trans in the summer of 2016, my then-boyfriend was irreproachably supportive. We had one heartfelt conversation about my identity, sitting on the couch in the night, then he shifted into using my new pronouns the very next day, after which he never mistepped. He complimented my short haircut and the button-up short sleeves I bought from Forever21’s men’s department.

At some point he took his friends and coworkers aside and quietly had the Conversations with them, if it seemed necessary. Anyone who seemed too tertiary he let just naturally figure it out, their eyes widening the first time they re-met me, with my new look and lower voice. A few times, people introduced themselves to me as if they’d never met me or heard of me before at all.

My boyfriend approached my new identity the way he tried to smooth out every conflicting desire in our relationship: by subtly, quietly pulling this corner and that one into place, and avoiding friction everywhere else he could find it. He tread carefully. But for all the work he did, and in spite of all the effort I put into trying to be thankful, there was no resolving things. He was a straight man, and that was not…

--

--

Devon Price

He/Him or It/Its. Social Psychologist & Author of LAZINESS DOES NOT EXIST and UNMASKING AUTISM. Links to buy: https://linktr.ee/drdevonprice