Swindling Corporations for Fun & Profit

I’ve made thousands of dollars by filling out class action settlement forms online. Here’s how you can, too.

Devon Price
15 min readSep 1, 2022

--

A settlement payment I received from Shutterfly for $78.29 in the fall of last year.

In the mid-2010s, I’d check blogs like Consumerist regularly. I’d sit down with my coffee and cereal in the morning, pop open the site, and read about the latest product the grocery store shrink ray had secretly reduced in size overnight (a phenomenon we all refer to as shrinkflation now), or review a handy list of all the food and drink products the TSA permits to pass through the security line, if flyers want to save money on overpriced airport food.

I was a graduate student living in Chicago on a lean $14,000-a-year stipend. My $800 rent absorbed over half that money right out. So I read a lot about personal finance, and was forever on the lookout for tips and tricks that would cut my expenses and supplement my income.

I was a teaching assistant at my university, so I ordered textbook samples from all the big publishers each semester, then trotted over to the bookstore to resell them for cash. I wandered over to on-campus events for prospective students and their parents and wolfed down the free food. I lived near campus so I could steal the wi-fi. I pirated a lot of media off that free internet (and got caught, and had to pay a $50 fine to the…

--

--

Devon Price

He/Him or It/Its. Social Psychologist & Author of LAZINESS DOES NOT EXIST and UNMASKING AUTISM. Links to buy: https://linktr.ee/drdevonprice