Toward an Informed Consent Model for All Drugs

And yes, I do mean *all* drugs.

Devon Price
15 min readFeb 1, 2023

--

Photo by Jan Zwarthoed on Unsplash

Hormone Replacement Therapy

It’s May of 2018, and I’m sitting on an examination table at Howard Brown Health Center’s TPAN location. My nurse practitioner, Jon, is a cheery, open-faced man with a trimmed grey beard. He’s sitting facing me, with a laptop at his side, and asking questions with a degree of patience and warmth that I’m not accustomed to in a medical provider.

“So you’re in today for a safe passage letter?” he asks.

A safe passage letter is a document provided by a physician to the court system, indicating that for the sake of a patient’s safety, the gender marker on their ID needs to be changed. I’ve asked for a safe passage letter so that I can change my legal gender to male.

“Yes,” I tell him. “But I was also thinking of starting low-dose testosterone.”

“We will get that letter ready for you today either way, that’s no problem,” he tells me, which is a relief. It turns out I don’t have to be on any kind of medical regime in order to legally transition. “And if you’ll just give me a moment, I’ll pull up some information about your options for low-dose T.”

--

--

Devon Price

He/Him or It/Its. Social Psychologist & Author of LAZINESS DOES NOT EXIST and UNMASKING AUTISM. Links to buy: https://linktr.ee/drdevonprice